Pumpkin Carving Competition 2014

To City,

Halloween is just a few days away and this means that it is time for our annual pumpkin carving competition. (By annual I actually mean that I am still trying to make this a tradition. I think/hope it is catching on).

We host our competition at our family farm and this year we used pumpkins that were grown from my very own garden. Thank you very much!

Pinterest gave us the inspiration. Songza gave us the theme music (the playlist was Pumpkin Carvin’ Party). My dad was given the task of roasting pumpkin seeds in the oven, which were delicious by the way.

I forgot like I do every year, that carving pumpkins is extremely messy, smells disgusting and is super fun. It can also lead to cheesy jokes. What did the jack-o-lantern say to the pumpkin? Cut it out!

Anyways, I decided to drill holes in my pumpkin, which was slightly dangerous because I do not know how to properly use power tools. My brother and sister decided that using a drill was cheating because it was too easy. I was then forced to carve a second pumpkin.

My brother was having issues because his smaller pumpkin had to fit inside the bigger pumpkin, had to be painted white, and involved a lot of other details and several swear words.

My sister ditched her homework and seemed content on making her masterpiece of a pumpkin. She, usually, wins, because she is the one who actually tries the hardest and also has some artistic abilities.

Here are the results:

IMG_0187
The Mummy Pumpkin on the far left is my sister’s, the Skull Pumpkin is my brother’s, and the Ghost and Drilled Pumpkins are mine.
IMG_0188
Lights off for the full effect.

My dad was the judge, which was more or less asking him which child he loves the best? He hemmed and hawed, obviously uncomfortable with the question. He didn’t really give us the answer, but we all came to the conclusion that my brother’s complicated design was the winner. He is now officially uninvited to next year’s competition…. Just kidding.

IMG_0194
The Winner!

Love, Country

P.S. Are you carving pumpkins this Halloween? Post a picture in the comment section. I would love to see them and possibly steal your idea for next year…

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Carving Competition 2014

Leave a Reply

