Schooled in Skidooing

To, City

Winter is more or less over, but hey, check out our sweet new rides!

IMG_6197

I’ve been meaning to show off our new (old) toys earlier this winter and because I’m so timely and topical I’ve finally decided to publish this post now… At the beginning of spring.

When we got our newish Skidoos around Christmas, there was more grass than snow. This led to a winter of wishing for snow… strange because I’m not really that big of a fan of the white stuff. That being said, the lack of snow did not stop us from ripping around whenever we had the chance.

IMG_6169

On the nice days, we had Skidoo parties. This meant a day of friends, bonfires, greasy hot dogs, laughs, and long ride to somewhere far.

Most importantly a few lessons were learned:

  • Driving is way more fun than riding. I’m scarred from all the times I fell off a Skidoo while I was a passenger, so I never really found skidooing all that much fun. Once we got our newish sleds though, I finally discovered that when I’m in control, instead of having to hold on for dear life, I actually had way more fun.
  • Don’t do jumps in a sled with no suspension. On our Skidoo parties, we always go down this one stretch of hills. I was motoring along on my little powerless sled, when I hit the top of the hill and started flying. In my mind, I was soaring 10 feet or more in the air. I started thinking how much fun this is and how I must look so badass on my 1980s sled getting sick air. In reality, I was probably less than half a foot off the ground, looking the complete opposite of cool. I came crashing down. The lack of suspension threw me onto the handlebars, my body hit the kill switch, and my life flashed before my eyes. Note to self: Learn how to land jumps.

IMG_6190

  • On a nice day in the country, you see country living at it’s finest. While we were skidooing on the lake, we just happened to stumble upon the season’s redneck event. Turns out that a local resident plows a track on the ice and they use it to race their old vehicles. Slippery ice on bald tires led to a lot of crashes and a few laughs, especially over the car with a middle finger attached to its roof.

IMG_6324

  • My dad may love his Skidoo more than he loves me. My dad decided to buy a newer Skidoo and it has more or less become his baby. We have to ask for permission to drive it, and his answer comes with lots of instruction on how to drive his new sled because “it has a lot of power”. For some reason, he let me drive his Skidoo and as I attempted to drive up a ditch I ended up tipping the machine over. I thought the Skidoo was going to keep rolling so I jumped out the way. My dad sees and comes running over. Instantly he grabs the Skidoo and starts yelling at me to help him flip it over. As we attempted to right the sled, I decide this might be a good time to tell him “I’m O.K.”. He ignores me. So I tell him again, “I’m O.K. No worries”. Ignored again. His friend drives back to us and the three of us manage to flip the sled over. I wasn’t allowed to drive his baby again that day…
  • Just keep driving. Skidooing in the Spring means that you are bound to find puddles. I always thought that water, snow, and Skidoos don’t really mix, but a few weeks ago I was told that no matter what happens, keep driving. This was terrifying advice because when you hit a massive puddle in a 30-year-old Skidoo, the machine has a really hard time getting through the water. When I expressed my concern I was told to “suck it up, buttercup”. So I did. I would say this day of sledding was 80% me being scared that I was going to end up swimming and 20% fun. Success!

IMG_6178

  • Hot dog/wiener jokes are always funny no matter what age.

Despite my long winded post about all the terrifying things I’ve done on our sleds this past winter, I actually did have a lot of fun. Now the Skidoos are put away for the season. Bring on the boating!

Love, Country

P.S. Hope you had an awesome winter!

 

2 thoughts on “Schooled in Skidooing

Leave a Reply

