Christmas Carol Confusion

I know it has been awhile since I have blogged and I’m sorry, but I have been busy doing hard-hitting journalism. In actuality, I have been working on assignments and doing exams for school, trying to get ready for Christmas and enjoying the season. Thanks eggnog for helping me cope with it all!

But back to my journalism investigation. Tis the season to for everything Christmas! One cold November evening, after some shopping, my boyfriend and I were sitting in Starbucks, drinking coffee, and singing carols to each other. For the most part, we knew all the words to the classics, except Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer. Of course, we knew the lyrics, but I’m talking about the extra lyrics that as kids we used to scream out.

At the part “they never let poor Rudolph (Rudolph) join in any Reindeer games” I yelled out (sang quietly because we were in Starbucks and singing Christmas carols to each other and it was kind of embarrassing) football and he said Monopoly. The discrepancies continued at the part “he’ll go down in history”, he said, “toothpaste”. Shocked, I shouted, “what the hell? Toothpaste!?”

Another evening, at a friend’s house, they mentioned the same problem. They were singing Rudolph to their three-year-old and both had their own variation of the extra lyrics. In an effort to figure out the true lyrics, we had a group sing-along. Needless to say, we all had different versions. We came to the conclusion, whoever grew up in small town had similar ideas of what the lyrics were and the same went for the ones who grew up in the city. I don’t know if this hypothesis is true, but I figured I would blog about it and see what you think?

Here is my version and you can tell me if I’m wrong. (The extra lyrics are in italics). Oh and obviously you need to sing in your head or out loud while you read this.

Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer (Reindeer)
Had a very shiny nose (like a lightbulb)
And if you ever saw it (saw it)
You would even say it glows (like a lightbulb? I may have this one wrong)
All of the other reindeer (Reindeer)
Used to laugh and call him names (like Dumbo)
They never let poor Rudolph (Rudolph)
Join in any reindeer games (like football)

Then one foggy Christmas Eve,
Santa came to say, (Ho, Ho, Ho, Ho)
Rudolph with your nose so bright,
Won’t you guide my sleigh tonight (Sure!!!)

Then how all the reindeer loved him, (loved him)
As they shouted out with glee, (Yippee!!!)
Rudolph the red-nose Reindeer (Reindeer)
You’ll go down in history (like Elvis)

Love, Country

P.S. I wish you a happy and safe holiday! Merry Christmas!

Photo Credit: Kit Cowan
Photo Credit: Kit Cowan

 

2 thoughts on “Christmas Carol Confusion

  1. I say “Monopoly” instead of football. Also, I was caroling yesterday–it was so much fun–and one of my friends had several unique lyrics:

    Santa came to say (in his underwear)

    And
    “You’ll go down in history (like wayne gretsky)

    I’m also pretty sure that it’s “….call him names (like Pinnochio!)

    Merry Christmas, Heather!

    Like

Leave a comment